Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Games (105)

Red Faction: Guerrilla review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 13 January 2012 07:48 (A review of Red Faction: Guerrilla)

Whereas most games having you shooting and blowing up people, this game shows you the joy of shooting and blowing up buildings. Destroying inanimate objects is easily just as fun, if not more so, than living targets. Both in the single player campaign, and in the multiplayer Wrecking Crew mode.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Fallout Tactics: Brotherhood of Steel review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 13 January 2012 07:48 (A review of Fallout Tactics: Brotherhood of Steel)

Another wonderful game set in the Fallout universe (though it's generally not considered "canon"). It plays very similarly to Fallout and Fallout 2, though it does play with the formula somewhat. Instead of the more open-world, sandbox, do whatever the hell you want to do formula of the first two games, this game adopts a more mission-based formula, along with returning to your Brotherhood of Steel Base, which functions as a hub of sorts for each new set of missions. There's still a whole huge swath of land to criss-cross and explore along the way to and from your missions, but I feel like there's a bit more of a sense of purpose here. Though I will say that the game kinda falls off-kilter in the last third, as you go from facing a variety of enemies to facing robots. Only robots. Hordes of robots. And if you aren't prepared to fight robots (ie: Ditch the conventional weapons and adopt laser or preferably plasma based weapons) you are in for a WORLD OF HURT. Though, there is some great voice acting to be had from R. Lee Ermey and Kurtwood Smith.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

MechCommander 2 review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 13 January 2012 07:47 (A review of MechCommander 2)

While it's loads of fun personally piloting my 100-ton Atlas Warmachine 'o Death in the Mechwarrior games, it was still tons of fun to command an entire strike force of mechs and accomplish strategic goals.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Final Fantasy II (IV) review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 13 January 2012 07:47 (A review of Final Fantasy II (IV))

No lie, lots of nostalgia value here for me. A very simple JRPG. Good characters, good story. Both a tad on the simple side, but considering it's from the SNES-era, it's pretty darn good.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 13 January 2012 07:47 (A review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory)

Kinda like being Batman, only with more boring enemies. Still I cannot suppress my impish glee at picking off guards one by one. This is a game that thrives on tension more than action.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 13 January 2012 07:47 (A review of StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty)

Real-time Strategy, but with a twist. That twist is that a compelling story is told along the way. It might be overly harsh to say that RTS games tend to lack when it comes to storytelling, as story is usually confined to pre-mission exposition and post-mission cutscenes. It's kind of a cookie-cutter formula. This game is unique in that it breaks that mold and allows to the story to unfold mid-mission, as you play it, in addition to the pre/post cutscenes (which are beautifully rendered, as is par for the course for Blizzard).


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Final Fantasy VII review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 13 January 2012 07:46 (A review of Final Fantasy VII)

Just like with Metal Gear: Solid, it's hard to describe a game that has such a legendary reputation. It's a great game, and if you haven't played it, you really should. It seems like I keep ranking this game lower and lower the more I think about it, and I'm not sure exactly why. It's a game that I've sunk 70+ hours into, easily. I have a lot of memories attached to this one game. But I guess I just expect more from games today. It might be unfair to judge this game by modern standards, but I guess that just means it isn't aging very well. And it just seems especially weird to have a silent protagonist, because he just comes across a bit like Gordon Freeman. Some kind of weird, socially maladjusted, emotionally vacant shell of an almost-person. The story grows from a small-scale to an epic world-saving scenario, and is engaging throughout.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Dead Rising 2 review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 13 January 2012 07:44 (A review of Dead Rising 2)

It might be a bit unfair to describe this game as mindless zombie killing fun, but that's exactly what makes it so great. Again, this is a game the boards the first train to an absurd bizarro land. When Capcom crafts a games story, it seems like they only have the most tenuous grasp of reality-land. The story isn't what compels me to play this game, it's just the absurd level of fun that is had in finding new and more inventive ways to mow down (sometimes literally) hordes of zombies.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 13 January 2012 07:44 (A review of Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy)

Having played The Force Unleashed, I can't help but feel that this game is the template they were working from. Where Force Unleashed skyrockets off into the absurd, this game feels more grounded in the world and lore of the Star Wars expanded universe. It's hard not to like a game that shows just how powerful Luke Skywalker is as a full Jedi Master, to say nothing of your own personal mentor, Kyle Katarn.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 13 January 2012 07:44 (A review of Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver)

This game has some of my favorite voice acting. The story of revenge that Raziel tells is what compelled me through this game. The game could be challenging at times, but I felt it was always worth it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block